Panaji: Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant witnessed the International Women’s day celebrations at New Durbar hall, Raj Bhavan today. The celebrations began with lighting of the traditional lamp.
Addressing the women’s who came from across the State, Chief Minister congratulated the award winners and said, it was a very proud movement for me to felicitate 40 women from Goa. We all should shoulder the responsibility to inculcate good manners in children at an early age, so that violence against women can be reduced, he added.
Citing the importance of health in our life, Chief Minister said, regular physical activity is one of the most important thing you can do for your good health and to remain physically active. If women’s keep fit themselves then they will succeed to keep their family fit, he added.
Mrs. Jenifer Monserrate, MLA and Dr. Deviya Rane, MLA also spoke on the occasion.
Earlier, Smt. Sandhya Kamat, Director, Social Welfare gave outline of the various Government Schemes.  Ms. Juliana Lohar, ARZ, NGO spoke on prevention, protection and rehabilitation of victims of commercial sexual exploitation and prosecution of traffickers. Dr. Kalpa Govekar, Consultant and Psychiatrist gave motivational talk on mental wellness. Ms. Sunita Sawant, Superintendent of Police spoke on women empowerment and gender equality, Ms. Sonia Arondekar, Gymnast guided the participants on self defence and fitness. Ms. Jigyasa, Representative from Bank of Baroda highlighted various schemes for the benefit of women.
Smt. Radhika Prabhu Desai, welcomed the guests. Shri Vijay Saxena, Director of Planning, Statistics and Evaluation and Shri Rajesh Kumar Jha, Manager of Bank Of Baroda was present on the occasion.
Miss Kanya Rupesh Naik presented Ganesh Vandana, Kartik Group performed cultural programme. Mrs Karuna Satardekar compered the function.
The awards were distributed at the hands of Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant to the women’s who excelled in various fields – Ms. Bhakti Kulkarni, Katya Coelho, Ms. Acchita Shirodkar,  Ms. Sneha Yadav, Ms Samrudhi Patil, Ms. Sakshi Kale, Ms. Pereira, Ms. Ema Patil, Dr. Rebello, Mrs. Babita Zore, Mrs. Deepa, Dr. Anuja Naik, Mrs Avina Andre, Mrs. Bharati Naik, Mrs. Mehak Sayyad, Mrs. Surekha Chodankar, Mrs. Meghana Naik, Mrs. Amita Naik, Mrs. Soniya Arondekar, Mrs. Akansha Naik, Mrs. Rasika Khandeparkar, Mrs. Rashida Mujawar, Ms. Veera Naik, Mrs. Ranjita Pai, Mrs. Anjalika, Ms. Betty Dourado, Ms. Sarita Chimulkar, Mrs. Priti Sadekar, Mrs. Ruchali Cardozo, Mrs. Mrs.Noma D’Mello, Mrs. Smita Sawant, Ms. Shweta Gaonkar, Mrs. Richa Govekar, Gauri Dhavalikar, Mrs. Nilam Marathe, Mrs. Geeta Tandel, Ms. Ismania Costa Vaz, Mrs. Tulsi Parwar,  Smt. Indumati Chitari, Smt. Mamita Volvoikar, Smt. Pramila Khandeparkar were among them. Awards were also presented to various groups.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *